Cosplays and conventions

 

IMG_20171021_211035.jpg

Do you ever have that moment where you put on a cartoon for your kid and ten minutes later you realize they aren’t actually watching it anymore…but you still are? There’s always that small moment of adulting involved shame after where you realize you were actually enjoying it.

Nerd mom has this problem. I have a little nerd boy. A nerd boy who likes hot wheels, and video games and pretending he’s lightning McQueen, but also my Little pony. This appeals to nerd mom for many reasons. There are no hot wheels, the friendship themes are really important, and the art and animation made me want to create friendship stories with the nerd boy.

So I started looking into My Little Pony conventions that seemed really family friendly. I wanted not only my first convention , but also the boys to be something we could do together and he could enjoy everything it had to offer.

Everfree northwest turned out to be the closest one to our neck of the woods. We missed the dates for this year, but I’ve marked the dates for next year on the calendar. That gives me six months to plan our cosplays for the weekend. I’m thinking of attempting some gender bending costumes for the nerd boy and nerd dad if he’s willing.

There will hopefully be some inspiration pictures and progress pics as things come together.

Thanks for joining me on my quest to find my inner nerd mom.

Leave a comment